Reserve Bank of India

Reserve Bank of India

The Reserve Bank of India is the central bank of India and controls the monetary policy of the rupee. The institution was established on 1 April 1935. Initially the Central Office of the RBI was in Calcutta, which was later shifted to Mumbai in 1937. The Central Office is where the Governor sits and where policies are formulated. The Bank's affairs are governed by a central board of directors which is appointed by the Government of India and consists of Governor and four deputy governors.The present Governor of RBI is Dr.D.Subbarao. The Reserve Bank of India has four regional representations: North in New Delhi, South in Chennai, East in Kolkata and West in Mumbai. The basic objectives of RBI are to issue bank notes, to maintain the currency and credit system of the country to utilize it in its best advantage, and to maintain the reserves. RBI maintains the economic structure of the country. The RBI is also a banker to the Government.

Job oriented Digital Marketing Courses in Kerala.
Call +91 8138875600 for details


Author: Mohamed Salim13 May 2010 Member Level: Silver   Points : 2

Reserve Bank of India
Official website.


Reserve Bank of India,
Central Office,
Shaheed Bhagat Singh Road,
Mumbai - 400001
In addition to that Reserve Bank has the following institutions.
* Banker's Training College
* College of Agricultural Banking
* Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research (IGIDR)
* Institute for Development & Research in Banking Technology (IDRBT)
* National Institute of Bank Management
* Reserve Bank of India Staff College

Mohamed Salim,


Author: Sameera M16 Jun 2010 Member Level: Gold   Points : 0

thanks for the information

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: