The Leader of Opposition of Kerala Legislative Assembly - Sri V S Achuthanandan

V S Achuthanandan, also known as ‘Comrade V S’ was elected as the leader of the opposition of the 13th Kerala Legislative Assembly (K L A) by the constituents of LDF. He was elected to the K L A from Malampuzha Constituency in Palakkad District. He contested as the CPIM – LDF candidate and won the seat with a margin of 23440 Votes over his nearest rival candidate Smt Lathika Subhash of the I N C – UDF.

Sri V S Achuthanandan – the Leader of Opposition of 13th K L A

Birth: Velikkakathu Sankaran Achuthanandan was born on the 20 October 1923 in Alappuzha district of Kerala.

Parents: He was born to Sankaran and Accamma.

Studies and early life:He could study only up to 7th standard in school as his parents died when he was young. He had to support his brother and joined as his helper working in a village cloth shop. Later he took up a job at a coir factory.

Entry in Politics: During his work he had to undergo and witness harassments from managements and started working in trade union. Achuthanandan joined the State Congress in 1939. In 1940, he left Congress and joined as the member of the Communist Party.

Past Activities:Achuthanandan has played an active role along with others in the Punnapra – Vayalar uprising. He has worked as state secretariat member of the undivided CPI. In the CPI (M) he held the post of secretary of the Kerala State Committee. He was a member of the Politburo of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) from 1985 until July 2009. Thereafter he was reverted to the Central Committee of the party. He is one of the founding leaders of the CPI (M) in India, and the only living Keralite among the 32 members who left the CPI National Council in 1964 to form the CPI (M). He is the senior most leader of the party now. He was imprisoned for five and half years and was in hiding for four and half years during the repression of Communist Movement. He has worked as the editor of Desabhimani Daily', the mouth piece of CPI (M) in Malayalam.

Assembly Elections: V.S. Achuthanandan was elected to Kerala Legislative Assembly In 1967, 1970, 1991 and 2001, 2006 & 2011. He was the Leader of Opposition from 1992 to 1996 and from 2001 till May 2006. After that he became C M.

Chief Minister Post of Kerala:V.S. Achuthanandan was elected as the 12th Chief Minister of Kerala in 2006 and held the post till May 2011. His actions as C M which attracted public attentions are the actions of the demolition drive in Munnar which claimed back acres of illegally occupied land, the demolition drive in Kochi M. G. Road which claimed back the long lost stretch of the road, anti-piracy drive against film-piracy and his struggle against the Lottery mafia in the state.

Family: On 18th July 1967, V.S. Achuthanandan married to K. Vasumathy and has one son and one daughter. Both are well settled in their own spheres and are married now

Job oriented Digital Marketing Courses in Kerala.
Call +91 8138875600 for details

Related Articles

Kerala Assembly Elections Results 2011 of Thalassery Constituency

Thalassery constituency is famous because of the presence of LDF candidate Kodiyeri Balakrishnan. We specially concentrate in giving live kerala election result 2011 and will be updated regularly. Read this article to know the votes get by Rijil Makutty, UDF candidate, votes get by Kodiyeri Balakrishnan, LDF candidate and the winner of Kannur constituency in Kerala assembly election result 2011.

Kerala Election 2011 Results Live Updates

Are you looking for Constituencies Wise Result of Kerala Assembly Election 2011.You can get the Live updates of Kerala Assembly Election 2011 from this article. Kerala election 2011 results will be announced on 13th May 2011. Kerala Election 2011 held in 13th April 2011.

Kerala Assembly Election Results 2011 of Malampuzha Constituency

Malampuzha constituency is famous for the presence of Chief minister V.S Achuthanandan. We specially concentrate in giving Live Kerala election result 2011 and lead will be updated regularly. Read this article to know the votes get by Lathika Subhash, UDF candidate, votes get by M V.S Achuthanandan, LDF candidate and the winner of Azhikode constituency in Kerala assembly election result 2011.

Kerala Election Districtwise Results 2011- Complete List of Winners

Here you can see the district wise Results of Kerala Assembly Election 2011. The Election results are coming out with UDF leads than LDF. Check this article to know Kerala Election Results 2011 district wise and constituency wise Results 2011. From here you can know the election result of Thrissur, Ernakulam, Palakad, Malapuram, Wayanad, Kozhikode, Kottayam, Alapuzha, Kannur, Pathanamthitta, Kollam, Thiruvananthapuram and Kasargod.

More articles: Kerala Election Winners 2011


  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: